Our Journey of Hope

Why us??

on April 25, 2014

“Sorry, there is nothing we can do for you; you need to start looking at other options.” I will never forget these words or how they made me feel. To be honest, I did not understand why God was allowing this to happen to us.  We are told the order of life is simple: go to school, meet someone, fall in love, and have children. And this is exactly how things had gone for me, except for the last part. Bryan and I were now in that category of people who couldn’t have children. I felt as though I should have seen this coming, since we had been dealing with this issue for nearly 3 ½ years. Month after month, the hope of having children began to fade, but it was never completely lost. I would hear women talk about how easy it was to get pregnant. This filled my heart with jealousy, as I wished it was easy for me to become pregnant.  I would also hear of women who were neglecting or abusing their children. This would make me question God as to how these women were blessed with a child, yet Bryan and I, who love children dearly, were struggling with infertility.

We went to several appointments and saw countless doctors, trying to determine why I was unable to become pregnant. At first they would say they did not know what was wrong or why we were struggling (which continued to give me a little bit of hope). I thought  God wasn’t saying ‘no’, he was saying ‘not yet.’ And then came that dreadful day a few months ago when a doctor told us there is was nothing they could do to help us have children, and we would have to begin looking at other options.  That brings me to the point of this blog; to keep our family and friends up to date on the journey Bryan and I go through to start a family of our own.

We originally looked at the possibility of In Vitro Fertilization (IVF) but after much discussion and prayer, we decided this wasn’t the option for us. So, we have begun looking into adoption. We have researched several different agencies, and some we originally thought would be a good fit for us have turned out otherwise. However there was one agency that stood out to us, and we decided to meet with them. We went into the meeting a bit reluctant, but hopeful. After the meeting we talked and prayed about the decision, and felt like this is the agency we would like to work with throughout this process. We are currently in the process of completing the application.

At this time we are asking our friends and family to support us through prayer. Please pray that God would give us clarity in this situation, as there are many important decisions to be made. We would also like to ask that you join us in praying over the application process and that it would be accepted.  We would be heartbroken if there was something in the application that would cause the agency to not work with us. As I am sure many of you are aware, the process of adoption is quite expensive. We know that if God is leading us in this direction that he will provide the finances.  Please pray that we would be wise with our money in order to make this happen. Lastly, and very importantly, we ask for prayer for the birth mom that will ultimately be matched with us, as we know this will not be an easy decision for her.

Isaiah 40:31

but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

 

8 responses to “Why us??

  1. Karla says:

    I am so sorry you have had to face this. I know firsthand how devestating that news can be. I think it is wonderful, though, that you are not giving up and that you will be giving a needy child an amazing Christian home! Love you girl and will be praying for you!

    • bryanliz717 says:

      Thank you Karla, love you too girl. We really do appreciate all the support. It will not be an easy journey but we know that if God brings us to it, He can help bring us through it!

  2. Erin says:

    Elizabeth and Bryan, I know this will be a stressful time for you both, but hold on to one another tightly. I’m excited to follow your story and to see the amazing way your family will be blessed! Know that I’m praying for wisdom, strength, patience,and peace for your upcoming decisions. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your journey!

  3. Kiersten says:

    I’m so excited you are open to this! My two, though a slightly long journey to get them here, are the best things ever! I have been where you are. There will come a day when your family will come together in a way you never imagined and it will feel like it was always that way. Please reach out if you need anything.

    • bryanliz717 says:

      Thank you Kiersten, I know you understand where we are coming from. Thanks for all your support so far, I’m sure I’ll have questions for you later on in the process!

  4. Tara says:

    My heart is filled with joy and hardened reading this. I know Gods plan is always bigger than our own thoughts and wants and I know He always provides. My prayers are with you and Bryan as I know you are the sweetest and most loving person I know Elizabeth and you getting this news breaks my heart for you. i pray for you and know youre amazing(&i know bryan is too Bryan is so lucky to be able to be a parent with you. This child will be so lucky. Prayers and love to you through this journey and I just know it will all lead to happiness and joy in a blessed little one.love you girl!

Leave a Reply

