Our Journey of Hope

Praying for our baby

on April 17, 2016

We have made it back around to April, and if you have been following our journey you know that we are now two years into our journey since deciding to adopt. It was in April 2014 that Bryan and I decided to make the scary leap into adoption and attend an informational meeting at Miriam’s Promise Adoption Services. We have gone through classes, loads of paperwork, home visits from our social worker, interviews, lots of fundraising and finally this weekend our baby shower. We have prayed, cried, rejoiced and worried a lot, but through it all we have pressed on in our journey, Our Journey of Hope. Today is my birthday and I told my family that all I wanted today was to go to church, eat lunch together and spend time working on our nursery. A few weeks ago my dad and Bryan painted the nursery and today we put together our crib and swing. We went through things and decided where things needed to go. We got a lot done and there is still a lot to do. It really was a great day!

 

You may be asking, when will we have a baby of our own? When will it finally be our turn?  Well, that answer isn’t easy. We have not officially been matched with anyone so we could get a call tomorrow or we could be waiting another 6 months. So how will we get through this next period of waiting… the same way we did the first; the support and love of our family and friends, lots of prayer, and trusting in God. Bryan and I decided several weeks ago that each night we would spend some time in prayer over our adoption. We pray for the potential expectant mom that we will be matched with, we pray for a healthy baby that will someday be in our arms, and we pray for strength to get through the next day. We always pray that our wait will be short and we won’t have to wait much longer. Over the last week I have really felt God talking to me about this waiting period but today at church I began to think about how we pray when our pastor said something that really spoke to me. He mentioned that often Americans when faced with something difficult ask God to fix their problem, while around the world others ask God to give them strength to get through their difficult time. And I began to think about our difficulties with completing our family. I would be lying if I stated that I secretly didn’t still want our baby to come tomorrow, but I also realize that it is in the waiting that we learn and grow so much. When I looked back at where Bryan and I were 2 years ago or even 6 months ago I can appreciate that we were not in the right place and time and that God was still teaching us things that we needed. Tonight after everyone left I came back into our nursery by myself, closed the door behind me and prayed over our nursery. I still prayed for the baby that will one day lay in the newly put together crib. I still prayed for the mother that will graciously hand over her baby to us one day, but also prayed for God’s strength in the days to come. I’m asking that you also join us in prayer over this time. We love you and thank you for all your love and support so far.

IMG_3459

2 responses to “Praying for our baby

  1. Alma Jean Hunter says:

    Like this hasn”t been an emotional weekend already, and I end it reading this ……this baby has no idea how much its loved already and we don’t even know them yet. love you all …..Mom

  2. jmlubiens says:

    Your new sweet nursery will be the perfect prayer room during this time of waiting. ❤

Leave a Reply

